Contact Us
Trumbull-Monroe Daily Voice serves Easton, Monroe, Redding & Trumbull
Return to your home site


Breaking News: Alert Westport Bank Employee Foils Kidnapping Scam, Police Say

Voter Guide: Race For Selectman Is At Top Of The Ballot In Redding

Redding Town Hall
Redding Town Hall Photo Credit: Jay Polansky

REDDING, Conn. -- “All politics is local:” That's the famous saying from House Speaker Thomas P. "Tip” O'Neill.

And the election Tuesday in Connecticut is all about local races, with voters heading to the polls to vote for their fellow town residents. These are the elected town officials who have a direct impact on property taxes, schools, police, town services and more.

At the top of the ballot in Redding, First Selectman Julia Pemberton is running unopposed. But there is a race for selectman, between Democrat Margaret "Peg" O'Donnell and Republican Michael P. Thompson.

Polls will be open from 6 a.m. to 8 p.m. Tuesday. To check your polling place, click here.  

First Selectman:

  • Julia Pemberton - D

Selectman (one for one):

  • Margaret "Peg" O'Donnell - D
  • Michael P. Thompson - R

Town Clerk:

  • Michele Grande - D/R

Town Treasurer: 

  • W. Wesley Higgins - D/R

Tax Collector:

  • Patricia J. Moisie - D/F

Board of Finance (vote for two):

  • Jamie Barickman - D
  • Robert Dean - D
  • Jennifer Wyss - R
  • Laurie G. Ricardson - R

Board of Finance (to fill an opening):

  • Edward Miller- D
  • Lewis Goldberg - R

Board of Education (vote for two):

  • Heather Whaley - D
  • Colleen Pilato - D
  • Laura A. Hoeing - R
  • John Reilly - R
  • Christopher Parkin (petitioning candidate)

Board of Assessment of Appeals:

  • Margi Esten - D
  • Gregory E. Stackpole - R

Planning Commission (vote for three):

  • Toby Welles - D
  • Anda Cumings - R
  • Steven Gagon - R

Zoning Commission (vote for two):

  • Amy Atamian - D
  • Theodore Ogonek - R

Zoning Board of Appeals (vote for two):

  • Scott Smith - D
  • Jill H. Cile - R

Zoning Board of Appeals Alternates (vote for three):

  • Daniel W. Barrett - D
  • Trevor Furrer - R
  • Chuck Cile - R 

Constable (vote for four):

  • Jane M. Ross - D
  • Mary Ann Carmen - D
  • Annet Bonfanti - D
  • Charles (Chuck) Mullaney - D
  • Urs Broderick Furrer - R
  • William Cook - R
  • Leif R. Smith - G

Regional Board of Education (vote for two):

  • Cheryl Grazino - D
  • Gwen Denny - D
  • Frank Taylor - R
  • Kevin Murray - R

to follow Daily Voice Trumbull-Monroe and receive free news updates.