Contact Us
Armonk Daily Voice serves Armonk, NY
Return to your home site


Police & Fire

State Police Using Concealed ID Vehicles In 'Speed Week' Detail

Speed week
Speed week Photo Credit: File photo

State Police in the Hudson Valley are conducting a week-long enforcement initiative to crackdown on speeding and aggressive driving across the state.

The “Speed Week” campaign began Wednesday and runs through Tuesday, Aug. 8.

Speeding is listed as a contributing factor in nearly one-third of all fatal crashes in New York. In 2015, 343 people were killed and 18,191 people were injured in speed-related crashes statewide.

During this summer’s Speed Week, troopers will be using both marked State Police vehicles and Concealed Identity Traffic Enforcement (CITE) vehicles as part of the operation. The CITE vehicles allow Troopers to more easily identify motorists who are violating laws while driving. These vehicles blend in with everyday traffic but are unmistakable as emergency vehicles once the emergency lighting is activated.

Speeding, as well as other traffic violations, will be heavily enforced throughout the week in addition to normal year-round enforcement. Troopers will be watching for violations, including distracted or impaired drivers, vehicle occupants who are not properly buckled-up, and drivers that are violating New York’s Move Over law.

During the August 2016 Speed Week campaign, State Police issued more than 21,600 traffic tickets, including 10,500 tickets for speeding, and nearly 650 for distracted driving.

Funding for the Speed Week initiative is provided through a grant from the Governor’s Traffic Safety Committee.

The fines for speeding on 55-mph highway or posted 65 mph zones are as follows:

  • 10 mph or less over the limit - min $45/max $150
  • 10-30 mph over the limit - min $90/max $300
  • 31 mph or more over the limit - min $180/max $600

Second conviction

  • 10 mph or less over the limit - min $45/max $300
  • 11-30 over the limit - min $90 /max $450
  • 31 or more over the limit - min $180/max $750

Third conviction

  • 10 mph or less over the limit - min $45/max $525
  • 11 - 30 over the limit - min $90 /max $675
  • 31 or more over the limit - min $180/max $975

Court surcharges are as follows:

  • Town or village courts - $93
  • Other Courts (city traffic courts, etc.) - $88

Violation point structure:

  • 1-10 mph over limit = 3 points
  • 11-20 mph over limit = 4 points
  • 21-30 mph over limit = 6 points
  • 30-40 mph over limit = 8 points
  • More than 40 mph over limit = 11 points (triggers suspension)

to follow Daily Voice Armonk and receive free news updates.