Contact Us
Norwalk Daily Voice serves Norwalk & Rowayton
Return to your home site


Norwalk Daily Voice serves Norwalk & Rowayton

Nearby Sites


Norwalk Expands Grant Program To Offer Education For Teachers

Three teachers at Brien McMahon High School have been awarded Fund for Teachers grants.
Three teachers at Brien McMahon High School have been awarded Fund for Teachers grants. Photo Credit: Daily Voice file photo

NORWALK, Conn. -- Norwalk Public Schools and the Norwalk Federation of Teachers have announced an expanded partnership with Fund for Teachers for 2016 fellowships. 

Two information sessions for teachers interested in applying for the grants will be held Tuesday at 2:45 and 3:45 p.m. at West Rocks Middle School. 

Applications for 2016 are due by Jan. 16, and recipients will be notified in April. 

Through this grant opportunity, teachers determine what they want to study, where they want to study it and how their learning will meet the needs of their students. Fund for Teachers recently honored the eight Norwalk teachers awarded FFT grants in 2015 totaling more than $34,000. 

“Our first eight Fund for Teachers Fellows set an impressive example,” said Steven Adamowski, superintendent of Norwalk Public Schools. “The passion and knowledge they are bringing into the classroom is evident to students, and their commitment to lifelong learning make them excellent role models. We’re very pleased that more Norwalk teachers will have the opportunity to apply for these grants in 2016.” 

Diana Manousos, teacher at Brien McMahon High School, used her $5,000 FFT grant to attend Taft Educational Center’s AP Art History Workshop in Watertown before embarking on a study tour of Italy’s masterpieces. 

“The opportunity to work alongside art history experts and peers helped prepare me for teaching AP Art History for the first time this fall. Going to Italy reinforced my workshop learning because I connected to the masterpieces in a visceral way. This entire experience gave me a new outlook on my teaching and my career,” said Manousos. 

Additional Norwalk grant recipients for 2015 include: 

  • Melissa Giandurco, Wolfpit Elementary School.
  • Louis Schede, Norwalk High School.
  • Susan Quatrella, Joseph LaPrad and Kelsey Murphy, Brien McMahon High School.
  • Smith Mowry, Columbus Magnet Elementary School.
  • Andy Pearce, Columbus Magnet Elementary School.

For information about the application process, previous grant recipients or student outcomes, visit

to sign up for Daily Voice's free daily emails and news alerts.