Contact Us
Norwalk Daily Voice serves Norwalk & Rowayton
Return to your home site


Norwalk Daily Voice serves Norwalk & Rowayton

Nearby Towns

Police & Fire

Federal Grant Gives Norwalk Relief For Sandy Hook Shooting Costs

Some Fairfield County towns will receive relief from a federal grant for the Newtown school shooting.
Some Fairfield County towns will receive relief from a federal grant for the Newtown school shooting. Photo Credit: File Photo

FAIRFIELD COUNTY, Conn. – A federal grant for $2.5 million has been allocated for Connecticut law enforcement to cover costs related to the Sandy Hook school shooting, the U.S. Attorney’s Office announced Wednesday.

The funding will compensate the Connecticut State Police, the Newtown Police Department and their partner agencies that provided assistance in response to the December shootings, according to U.S. Attorney General Eric Holder.

The grant – administered by the U.S. Justice Department’s Bureau of Justice Assistance – is to compensate the agencies and jurisdictions for costs related to overtime, forensics and security during and in the aftermath of the crime.

“Providing support to the law enforcement agencies that responded to the horrific scene that awaited them at Sandy Hook Elementary School is one small action we can take to bring healing to a community that’s been devastated,” Holder said in a statement. “Just over eight months after this senseless tragedy, those who lost their lives, and those who continue to grieve, remain in our thoughts and prayers.”

Funding has been scheduled for distribution as follows:

  • Connecticut State Police – $663,444
  • Town of Newtown – $602,293
  • Town of Monroe – $882,812
  • Partner Agencies – $296,836

The following Connecticut jurisdictions were named as partner agencies: Avon, Bethel, Bloomfield, Bridgeport, Brookfield, Clinton, Coventry, Danbury, Darien, Easton, Fairfield, Glastonbury, Groton, Meriden, Middletown, New Britain, Newington, New Canaan, New Milford, Norwalk, Orange, Plainville, Redding, Ridgefield, Seymour, Shelton, Southington, Stratford, Trumbull, Waterbury, Watertown, Wilton, Weston and Wolcott.

“This critical funding will compensate the Connecticut State Police and Newtown Police Department for their tireless work investigating this crime, as well as more than two dozen police departments from across the state whose officers responded to Newtown within minutes of this horrific act and, for months, helped to provide security and comfort to a courageous community,” Acting U.S. Attorney for Connecticut Deirdre M. Daly said in a statement.

to sign up for Daily Voice's free daily emails and news alerts.

Welcome to

Norwalk Daily Voice!

Serves Norwalk & Rowayton

Hi! You've read our articles so we know you like our reporting. To keep reading please join our mailing list.

Get important news about your town as it happens.