Contact Us
Rivertowns Daily Voice serves Dobbs Ferry, Hastings & Irvington
Return to your home site


Rivertowns Daily Voice serves Dobbs Ferry, Hastings & Irvington

Nearby Sites


Rivertowns Residents Named To 2015 Senior Hall Of Fame

Forty-seven seniors have been named to the Westchester 2015 Senior Hall of Fame.
Forty-seven seniors have been named to the Westchester 2015 Senior Hall of Fame. Photo Credit:

WESTCHESTER COUNTY, N.Y. -- Forty-seven senior citizens will be inducted into the 32nd annual Westchester Senior Citizens Hall of Fame luncheon from 11:30 a.m. to 3 p.m. Dec. 5 at the Westchester Marriott Hotel in Tarrytown. 

County Executive Robert Astorino announced that 95-year-old Seymour Scharf, a retired fiduciary and long-time volunteer, fundraiser and supporter of programs throughout Greenburgh, will be the top honoree at the hall of fame.

Scharf is one of 47 seniors from 26 county municipalities who will be inducted into the Hall of Fame.

Four seniors will receive Special Recognition: Ralph Damiano of Yonkers; Bernice Smith of Yonkers; Rose Virgilio of Pleasantville; and Barrington N. Wright of Bronxville. Five seniors in the “Class of 2014” are 90 years old or older, and their ranks also include three married couples. 

The full Westchester Senior Citizens Hall of Famers are: 

Seymour Stanton and Fredric C. Westendorf of Briarcliff Manor; Barrington N. Wright of Bronxville; Josephine Burns of Croton-on-Hudson; Jo-Ann Moccio of Eastchester; Rocco Turso of Harrison; Judith Connolly and Seymour Scharf of Hartsdale; Ann Marie Chinnery of Hastings-on-Hudson; Ruth Gursky of Irvington; Lynda O'Hanlon of Katonah; Rosemary Parandelis of Larchmont; Nancy Gould Ralphs of Mount Kisco; Edna Bringer, Sandra Conton, Olivia O. Dickens, Joyce Fairey, Joe Petriello of Mount Vernon; Shirley Oakley of New Rochelle; Thomas L. Purdy III of North Salem; Jeni Schutrick Vitiello of Peekskill; Rose Virgilio of Pleasantville; Lee Katz, Ph.D., Kathleen T. Shields of Rye, Most Rev. John A. Herzog, Selina Ann Herzog of Scarborough; Jane Nusbaum of Scarsdale; Jade Lew, Jane Pepino, J. Donna Sullivan of Somers; Marcia Klein of Tarrytown; Denzil Francis of Tuckahoe; Joan-Clare Ahern of Valhalla; Rosemarie Fonti of Verplanck; Malcolm H. Baehr, Sari Berliner, Jim Berliner, June Castleberry, JoAnne Futrell Lee, Theodore Jay Lee, Jr. of White Plains; Gail Baxter, Helen Boylan, Angela Campanaro, Ralph Damiano, Esther “Terry” Ferrara, Bernice Smith, Richard Weis of Yonkers.

To view photos of all the Hall of Famers, click here.

to sign up for Daily Voice's free daily emails and news alerts.