Map Interactive local COVID-19 tracker
Contact Us
Westport Daily Voice serves Weston & Westport
Return to your home site


Westport Daily Voice serves Weston & Westport

Nearby Towns

Breaking News: Storm Watch: Here's Latest On System Bringing Heavy Rain, Damaging Wind Gusts To Region

ICYMI: Chris Spaulding Scores Landslide Win For Weston First Selectman

Chris Spaulding is the new first selectman in Weston.
Chris Spaulding is the new first selectman in Weston. Photo Credit: Submitted

WESTON, Conn. -- Democratic challenger Chris Spaulding soundly defeated Republican incumbent Nina Daniel in the race for Weston First Selectman in voting Tuesday, according to election results from the secretary of the state. 

Spaulding's landslide win — he received more than twice as many votes — led the way for other Democratic victories in Weston in the municipal election. 

In the race for Selectman, Democrat Brian Gordon topped Republican Stephan Grozinger. But both won seats on the Board of Selectmen because they each earned more votes than Daniel.   

Democrat Steve Ezzes won election to the Board of Finance.

Republican incumbent Elise Major lost her seat on the Board of Education. 

And Republican Tom Failla, chairman of the Planning and Zoning Commission, was also ousted. 

Here is the ballot for Weston, with winners in bold. (All results are unofficial.) 

First Selectman:

  • Chris Spaulding - D - 2,112 votes 
  • Nina Daniel - R - 908 votes 


  • Brian Gordon - D - 1,781 votes
  • Stephan Grozinger - R - 1,210 votes 

Board of Finance (vote for four):

  • Steve Ezzes - D - 2,076 votes 
  • Bob Ferguson - R - 1,250 votes 
  • Bob Machson - R - 1,024 votes 
  • Jerry Sargent - R- 1,402 votes 
  • Rone Baldwin - R - 1,362 votes 
  • Peter McGinnis - Petitioning Candidate - 692 votes
  • Effie Thieme - Petitioning Candidate - 835 votes 

Board of Education (vote for three):

  • Tony Pesco - D - 1,777 votes
  • Samantha Nestor - D - 2,005 votes
  • Sara Spaulding - D - 2,106 votes
  • Elise Major - R - 1,550 votes 
Board of Education (to fill vacancy):
  • Gina Albert - D

Board of Assessment Appeals:

  • Denise Maxcy - D
  • Leslie Riback - R

Planning and Zoning Commission (vote for three):

  • Harry Falber - D - 1,991 votes 
  • Sally Korsh - D - 1,943 votes 
  • Tom Failla - R - 1,376 votes 
  • Britta A. Lerner - R - 1,479 votes 

Zoning Board of Appeals (vote for two):

  • W. MacLeod Snaith - D
  • Bob Machson - R
Zoning Board of Appeals (to fill vacancy):
  • Don Scarborough - D

Zoning Board of Appeals Alternate:

  • Jim Low - D
  • John Moran - R

Police Commission:

  • Dawn Egan - D
  • Susan Moch - D
  • Woody Bliss - R
  • Peter J. Ottomano - R

to sign up for Daily Voice's free daily emails and news alerts.

Welcome to

Westport Daily Voice!

Serves Weston & Westport

Hi! You've read our articles so we know you like our reporting. To keep reading please join our mailing list.

Get important news about your town as it happens.