Map Interactive local COVID-19 tracker
Contact Us
Stratford Daily Voice serves Stratford, CT
Return to your home site


Stratford Daily Voice serves Stratford, CT

Nearby Towns

Breaking News: Snow Way! Parts Of Region Will See Wintry Mix, Accumulation As New Storm System Moves Through

Stratford Voters Reject Proposed Sale Of Sewer Facilities

Mayor John Harkins' bid to sell the city's sewer facilities was turned down by voters Tuesday. Photo Credit: City of Stratford
Stratford voters rejected the sale of its sewer facilities on Tuesday. Photo Credit: Facebook/WPCA Stratford -- Get Answers

STRATFORD, Conn. -- Stratford voters resoundingly rejected the sale of Stratford’s sewer system facilities to the Greater New Haven Water Pollution Control Authority, according to a report on News 12.

By a margin of 3-1, Stratford voters rejected the proposed sale. 

Mayor John Harkins had proposed the sale of the plant, but it was held up by five petitioners with the group WPCA Stratford-Get Answers. The proposed sale was approved in April, but the group challenged the vote in court, and wanted residents to decide on the proposed sale.

The proposed sale was also supported by the Stratford Chamber of Commerce, among others.

“Tonight’s result was a total repudiation of the Harkins administration and total vindication for the people of Stratford,’’ Henry Bruce wrote on the WPCA Stratford -- Get Answers Facebook page. “Our group got total confirmation of what we have believed for well over year, that when the people have the facts on what’s been going on down at Town Hall, they will do the right thing. I could not be more proud of what all the leaders and volunteers did to make the petition and referendum such a huge success and a victory for the people.”

In other races, the Democrats won six of 10 seats on the Town Council. The winners included, according to the

  • Town Council - District 1: Beth Daponte/Democrat
  • Town Council - District 2: Mark E. Dumas/Republican
  • Town Council - District 3: Wali Kadeem/Democrat
  • Town Council - District 4: David L. Harden/Democrat
  • Town Council - District 5:  Joseph P. Gresko/Democrat
  • Town Council - District 6: Philip L. Young, III/Democrat
  • Town Council - District 7: Marianne Antezzo, Republican 
  • Town Council - District 8: Vincent Chase, Republican 
  • Town Council - District 9: Alan Llewelyn/Republican
  • Town Council - District 10: Tina M. Manus/Democrat

Check back with the Daily Voice for full election results from Stratford. 

to sign up for Daily Voice's free daily emails and news alerts.

Welcome to

Stratford Daily Voice!

Hi! You've read our articles so we know you like our reporting. To keep reading please join our mailing list.

Get important news about your town as it happens.