Map Interactive local COVID-19 tracker
Contact Us
Newtown Daily Voice serves Bethel & Newtown
Return to your home site


Newtown Daily Voice serves Bethel & Newtown

Nearby Towns


Voter Guide: Race For First Selectman Is At Top Of The Ballot In Newtown

Edmond Town Hall
Edmond Town Hall Photo Credit: Skip Pearlman

NEWTOWN, Conn. — "All politics is local:” That's the famous saying from House Speaker Thomas P. "Tip” O'Neill.

And the election Tuesday in Connecticut is all about local races, with voters heading to the polls to vote for their fellow town residents. These are the elected town officials who have a direct impact on property taxes, schools, police, town services and more.

At the top of the ballot in Newtown is the race for first selectman. Current First Selectman Pat Llodra is not seeking re-election. Competing for the open seat are Democrat Daniel Rosenthal, Republican William F.L. Rodgers and petitioning candidate Andrew Clure.

Polls will be open from 6 a.m. to 8 p.m. Tuesday. To check your polling place, click here.

Here is the ballot:

First Selectman:

  • Daniel Rosenthal - D
  • William F.L. Rodgers - R
  • Andrew Clure - petitioning candidate

Selectman (vote for one):

  • Maureen Crick Owen  - D
  • Jeffrey Capeci - R

Legislative Council:

District One (vote for four, in your district):

  • Judit DeStefano - D
  • Chris Eide - D
  • Paul Lundquist - D
  • George C. Guidera - R
  • Jay Mattegat - R
  • Joe Girgasky - R

District Two (vote for four, in your district):

  • Jordana Bloom - D
  • Clinton DePaolo - D
  • Daniel Honan - D
  • Matthew Mihalcik - R
  • Dan Wiedemann - R
  • Ryan Knapp - R

District Three (vote for four, in your district):

  • Chris Smith - D
  • Kelley Johnson - D
  • Robert Pickard - D
  • Rance Thompson - R
  • Dennis Kokenos - R
  • Philip Carroll - R

Town Clerk:

  • Valerie Dudeck Hart - D
  • Debbie Aurelia Halstead - R

Board of Finance (vote for six):

  • Keith Alexander - D
  • Steve Hinden - D
  • James Gaston - D
  • Roger Cyr - D
  • Mark Boland - R
  • Sandy Roussas - R
  • Robert Licata - R
  • Armel R. Kouassi - R

Board of Education (vote for two):

  • Debbie Leidlein - D
  • Michelle Embree Ku - D
  • Daniel Cruson, Jr. - R
  • Daniel R. Delia - R

Board of Assessment Appeals:

  • Marianne Brown - R

Planning and Zoning Commission (vote for two):

  • Barbara Manville - D
  • Don Mitchell - D
  • Frank Corigliano - R

Planning and Zoning Commission Alternates (vote for three):

  • Margot Snellback - D
  • David Rosen - D
  • Fredrick Taylor - R
  • Roy Meadows - R

Zoning Board of Appeals (full term, vote for two):

  • Alan Clavette - D
  • Barbara O’Connor - R
Zoning Board of Appeals (to fill vacancy, vote for two):
  • Prerna Rao - D
  • Jane Sharpe - R
  • Stephen Singlak - R

Zoning Board of Appeals Alternates (vote for three):

  • Christina Paradis - D
  • Joe Bojnowski - D
  • Charles Gardner - R
  • Robin Buchanan - R

Police Commission (vote for two):

  • Andy Sachs - D
  • Scott Cicciar - R 
  • David Ruhs - R

Board of Managers of Edmond Town Hall (full term):

  • Jen Guman - D
  • Jennifer Chaudhary - R

Board of Managers of Edmond Town Hall (to fill vacancy):

  • Herb Rosenthal - D

to sign up for Daily Voice's free daily emails and news alerts.

Welcome to

Newtown Daily Voice!

Serves Bethel & Newtown

Hi! You've read our articles so we know you like our reporting. To keep reading please join our mailing list.

Get important news about your town as it happens.