US Presidential Scholars: 3 Fairfield County High School Seniors Earn Top Honor

Several Connecticut high school seniors have received one of the nation's highest honors for students. 

Graduation cap

Graduation cap

Photo Credit: Pixabay

The three, all from Fairfield County, are among only 161 students across the entire US to be selected as 2024 US Presidential Scholars, the US Department of Education just announced on Thursday, May 9. 

The US Presidential Scholars Program was created in 1964 and recognizes a few of the country's most distinguished graduating seniors. Scholars are chosen based on academic success, excellence in the arts and technical education, and commitment to community service and leadership. 

The three Connecticut students chosen for the honor are: 

  • Leigh Foran of Westport, a senior at Staples High School;
  • Annika Fleur Emilia Mengwall of Darien, a senior at Darien High School;
  • Cy J. Pavlov of Trumbull, a senior at Trumbull High School.

According to the US Department of Education, 2024 marks the program's 60th anniversary. 

Connecticut Gov. Ned Lamont praised the three students on Thursday.

"I am excited to extend my congratulations to Annika, Cy, and Leigh on receiving this prestigious national honor in recognition of their academic achievements," Lamont said, adding, "They represent some of the very best of Connecticut and we are proud to have such accomplished students representing our state."

A full list of the 2024 US Presidential Scholars is available here. 

to follow Daily Voice Fairfield and receive free news updates.