Election Day 2022: Hottest House Races In PA

Polls are open for the 2022 midterm elections Tuesday, Nov. 8.

All 17 of Pennsylvania's seats in the US House of Representatives are contested.

All 18 incumbent representatives having won their 2020 races, leaving the Pennsylvania delegation balanced with nine Democrats and nine Republicans holding office. 

But the Keystone State has only 17 Congressional districts at play in the 2022 midterm elections, having lost a seat following the results of the 2020 census.  

If the 435-member House flips to Republican control, that is considered a "referendum" on Joe Biden's first-term problems as president. 

Here's a rundown of the key races in Pennsylvania:

7th Congressional District: Susan Wild (D) has held the position since being elected in 2018, and is up against Lisa Scheller (R), who works as CEO at her family's manufacturing company. The pair previously faced off in 2020, when Wild won by 3.8 percentage points.

The 7th District includes most of Delaware County along with sections of Chester, Montgomery, Berks, and Lancaster counties. 

8th Congressional District: Matt Cartwright (D) is up against Jim Bognet (R) for the second time, after beating him by just 3.6 percentage points in 2020. If he wins, this will be Cartwright's sixth House term. The 8th district includes all of Wayne, Pike, and Lackawanna counties as well as parts of Luzerne and Monroe Counties. 

17th Congressional District: Incumbent Democrat Conor Lamb chose not to run again in order to pursue a US Senate primary bid, leaving the field clear for lawyer Christopher Deluzio (D) and software engineer Jeremy Shaffer (R) to face off. The 17th District includes all of Beaver County as well as parts of Allegheny and Butler counties. 

Below is the complete list of candidates vying for seats in the Keystone State's 17 districts (* denotes incumbent):

District 1:

  • Brian Fitzpatrick (R) *
  • Ashley Ehasz (D) 
  • Henry Conoly 
  • Caroline Avery 

District 2:

  • Brendan Boyle (D) *
  • Aaron Bashir (R)

District 3:

  • Dwight Evans (D) *
  • Christopher Hoeppner 

District 4:

  • Madeleine Dean (D) *
  • Christian Nascimento (R)

District 5:

  • Mary Gay Scanlon (D)*
  • David Galluch (R)

District 6:

  • Chrissy Houlahan (D) *
  • Guy Ciarrocchi (R)

District 7:

  • Susan Wild (D) *
  • Lisa Scheller (R)

District 8:

  • Matt Cartwright (D) *
  • Jim Bognet (R)

District 9:

  • Dan Meuser (R)*
  • Amanda Waldman (D)

District 10:

  • Scott Perry (R) *
  • Shamaine Daniels (D)

District 11:

  • Lloyd Smucker (R) *
  • Bob Hollister (D)

District 12:

  • Summer Lee (D)
  • Michael Doyle (R)

District 13:

  • John Joyce (R) *

District 14:

  • Guy Reschenthaler (R) *

District 15:

  • Glenn Thompson (R) *
  • Michael Molesevich (D)

District 16:

  • Mike Kelly (R) *
  • Dan Pastore (D)

District 17:

  • Christopher Deluzio (D)
  • Jeremy Shaffer (R)

to follow Daily Voice Delaware and receive free news updates.