Contact Us
Tarrytown-SleepyHollow Daily Voice serves Sleepy Hollow & Tarrytown
Return to your home site


Tarrytown-SleepyHollow Daily Voice serves Sleepy Hollow & Tarrytown

Nearby Sites


Sleepy Hollow Candidates Announce Independent Line

SLEEPY HOLLOW, N.Y. – The Sleepy Hollow Democratic Party announced Sunday that the three Democratic candidates for village trustee would also be running under the independent “Better Government” line in upcoming elections.

“The presence of a second line on the ballot reflects the true bipartisan nature of the slate,” Trustee Bruce Campbell said.

Incumbent Karin Wompa is running with newcomers Susan MacFarlane and Jennifer Lobato-Church against Sleepy Hollow Independent Party candidates Sean Roach, Daniel Scott and David Bedell.

Wompa and MacFarlane are both registered Democrats. Lobato-Church is a registered Republican. To run under an independent party line, the candidates needed to garner 100 signatures.

Lobato-Church said when she was nominated that she sees the opportunity to run under the Democratic and Better Government lines as “an opportunity to get even more involved and continue the forward progress” of the current administration.

“I just see that there's a need and an opportunity to work together—party politics aside—in a unified way to bring our village forward to greatness,” she said.

Mayor Ken Wray agreed, saying the bipartisan nature of the candidates showed that “the party politics that's got us so thoroughly screwed up in Washington is not in evidence here.”

“I know they are going to do a great job for the village,” he said.

Elections will take place on March 20.

to sign up for Daily Voice's free daily emails and news alerts.