Rye YMCA Swimmers Win League Championship

RYE, N.Y. -- The Rye YMCA Wave Ryeders ended their season as the Westchester-Fairfield League Champions for the eighth consecutive year, and placed 10th at the New York State YMCA Championships in Ithaca.

<p>The Rye YMCA Wave Ryeders won the Westchester-Fairfield League Championship for the eight year in a row, and placed tenth in the state championship.</p>

The Rye YMCA Wave Ryeders won the Westchester-Fairfield League Championship for the eight year in a row, and placed tenth in the state championship.

Photo Credit: Courtesy of the Rye YMCA

Several members of the team brought home trophies from the state championships. Rowan Haffner, 8, won a first place championship, the “8 and under” and “10 and under” boys teams placed second and the “8 and under” girls team placed third.

“I am so proud of the Wave Ryeders’ teamwork this year,” said Coach Kate Tiedemann. “They turned the disappointment of losing a dual meet against New Rochelle into a victory at the Leagues and a strong performance at States.”

League Finalists included Julia Appelbaum, Tayla Appelbaum, Hugo Bassas, Alex Bluvol, Sam Bluvol, Luke Boraczek, Garrett Campbell, Mathew Capaldi, Melissa Bergin, Jane Curran, Caitlin Daley, Alexandra DeStabler, Andrew DeStabler, Eric Dowd, Sharron Doyle, Sean Fallon, Owen Foley, Ethan Fuchs, Casmir Harshbarger, Lara Geelen, Ava Greto, Nicholas Gutierrez, Jackson Haffner, Riley Haffner, Rowan Haffner, Adele Harshbarger, Kieran Hickey, Chris Hicks, Julia Hodys, Isabel Hurley, Kelly Hyland, Ava Iannetta, Felicity Johnson, Max Kuhn, James Laverty, Katie Laverty, Ari Lemich, Geoffrey Lien, Julia Mackey, Michael Mackey, Thomas Mackey, Julien Marchard, Louis Marchard, Max Marchard, Hunter McWilliams, Allie Murphy, Sakiki Nishida, Lainey Noga, Theresa Pace, Alexandra Marshall, Frank Pauwels, Connor Popp, Maeve Potter, Cloe Quinones, Anis Souda, Luca Quinones, Emma Servence, Hannah Simmons, Andrew Stuart, Julie Tiedemann, Aidan Tuohy, Brendan Tuohy, Lu Vermes, Shoshanna Victor, Maggie Victory, Logan Wasserman and JT Wolf

The States Finalists were Tayla Appelbaum, Melissa Bergin, Sam Bluvol, Mathew Capaldi, Andrew DeStabler, Lente Geelen, Lara Geelen, Nicholas Gutierrez, Riley Haffner, Rowan Haffner, Chris Hicks, Ava Iannetta, Max Kuhn, Geoffrey Lien, Ari Lemish, Thomas Mackey, James Laverty, Katie Laverty, Michael Mackey, Alexandra Marshall, Theresa Pace, Connor Popp, Luca Quinones, Hannah Simmons, Andrew Stuart, Logan Wasserman and JT Wolf.

The Rye YMCA offers both spring and fall swim teams, as well as pre-team for swimmers not yet ready for competition. Visit the YMCA website and view the program guide for more details.

to follow Daily Voice Rye and receive free news updates.