Contact Us
Rye Daily Voice serves Rye, NY
Return to your home site


Rye Daily Voice serves Rye, NY

Nearby Sites


Westchester BOL Announces Committee Structure, Leadership For 2014-15

The Westchester BOL announced the committee leadership for 2014-15 on Thursday morning.
The Westchester BOL announced the committee leadership for 2014-15 on Thursday morning. Photo Credit: Courtesy of Matthew Richter

WHITE PLAINS, N.Y. -- Westchester County Board of Legislators (BOL) Chairman Michael Kaplowitz, (Democrat, District 4) and Vice Chairman James Maisano, (Republican, District 11) announced the committee leadership for 2014-15 on Thursday. 

Each of the 17 members of the county board hold a leadership position or committee chair.  Previously, no legislators from the minority held committee chairmanships.

"I promised that on the new, bipartisan BOL, every Legislator would occupy a leadership position or a committee chairmanship," Kaplowitz said. "I'm glad to announce that we have delivered on that promise."

For the 2014-15 term, the BOL will comprise of 11 committees, and four special task forces.

The committees are Budget and Appropriations; Legislation; Economic Development and Projects; Infrastructure; Labor/Parks/Planning/Housing; Community Services; Public Safety; Seniors and Constituencies; Appointments; Federal and State Affairs; Law; and Environment and Energy.

The "Budget and Appropriations," and "Legislation," committees are required to exist according to the Westchester County Charter. The remaining committees are created by the chairman. 

The task forces are: the Hispanic Affairs Task Force; the Charter Commission Review Task Force; the Minority Affairs Task Force and the Families Task Force.

Kaplowitz said, "I believe we have created the appropriate framework matched to the right Legislator/chair to address the complex challenges and unique opportunities that are before us in this new term."

Maisano said, "I am really excited about the way we've approached the committee structure this term and I think we will see a much more efficient and productive committee process as a result."

Committee Structure: 

Budget and Appropriations: Sheila Marcotte (D10)

Legislation: Virginia Perez (D17) 

Economic Development and Projects: Michael Smith (D3)

Infrastructure: Mary Jane Shimsky (D12)

Labor / Parks / Planning / Housing: Peter Harckham (D2)

Community Services: Alfreda Williams (D8) 

Public Safety: David Gelfarb (D6)

Seniors and Constituencies: Bernice Spreckman (D14)

Appointments: Ben Boykin (D5) 

Federal and State Affairs: Ken Jenkins (D16)

Law: Lyndon Williams (D13)

Environment and Energy: Catherine Parker (D7)

to follow Daily Voice Rye and receive free news updates.