Contact Us
Ramapo Daily Voice serves Airmont, Chestnut Ridge, Hillburn, Hillcrest, Kaser, Monsey, Montebello, Mount Ivy, New Hempstead, New Square, Pomona, Sloatsburg, Spring Valley, Suffern, Tallman, Viola & Wesley Hills
Return to your home site



Supervisor St. Lawrence Survives Tough Race In Ramapo

Michael Parietti Michael Parietti
Michael Parietti Photo Credit: Tina Traster
Christopher St. Lawrence Christopher St. Lawrence
Christopher St. Lawrence Photo Credit: Tina Traster

RAMAPO – Democratic incumbent Christopher P. St. Lawrence prevailed in his fight for another two-year term as town supervisor against nemesis Republican Michael Parietti, who ran on the Preserve Ramapo ticket.

The vote was 13,775 to 11,399.

St. Lawrence, a Demcorat who has been in office since 2000, defends his record, saying different constituents in the town have different needs. "I have been an advocate against unjustified rate increases by utility companies, spearheaded the purchase of more than $60 million for open space and historic preservation, and I've ensured that Ramapo remains one of the Safest Communities as rated by the FBI," said St. Lawrence.

Democratic incumbent Brendel F. Logan-Charles, along with Samuel B. Tress (D), won two four-year terms, beating William J. Weber, Jr. (R) and Timothy D. Scott.

Superintendent of Highway Anthony M. Sharan (D) beat Robert Romanowski (R) for the two-year term. Town Justice Alan M. Simon won unopposed.

In other races..

In the Village of Suffern, Republican Edward T. Markunas beat incumbent Democrat Patricia J. Abato for the two-year term, 1,565 to 1,177. 

Frank Hagen (R) and Moira Hertzman (R) beat Democrats Jo Meegan-Corrigan and James Lyons.


Vilair Fonvil (D) and Sherry T. McGill (D) beat Yisroel Eisenbach (C), are for four-year terms on the Village Board of Trustees. 

Justice David Fried ran unopposed for a four-year term.

to follow Daily Voice Ramapo and receive free news updates.