Contact Us
Ossining Daily Voice serves Ossining, NY
Return to your home site


Ossining Daily Voice serves Ossining, NY

Nearby Sites


Fordham Prep's Leyden Wins Shoreline Championship

NEW ROCHELLE, N.Y. – Coming into the season, Tim Leyden realized he might have to bump up a weight class or two in order to start for the Fordham Prep wrestling team.

The senior and Ossining resident, who certified at 170 pounds, jumped to 195 and has been having an excellent season. Leyden solidified his spot by winning the 195-pound title in the 48th annual Ted Murphy Shoreline Wrestling Class Saturday at New Rochelle High School.

It was the first wrestling title for Leyden, who weighed in for Shoreline at a robust 178 pounds.

Fordham Prep accumulated 85.5 points, good for eighth place in the 21-team field. Fox Lane won the team title with 189.5 points. Teammate Pat Argast, who wrestled modified at Fox Lane before going to Fordham Prep, was the 182-pound champion. Chris Melikian, who lives in Yorktown, finished third at 126.

“The other two spots were also occupied by seniors so I thought it would be best for the team if I wrestled up and filled the 195-pound weight class,” Leyden said.

Leyden, despite giving up an average of anywhere from 15-20 pounds to his opponents, is now 15-5 on the year. He registered his 15th win with a 6-4 triumph in overtime of Tappan Zee’s John Hartnett.

Leyden led 3-2 in the third period when Hartnett countered his opponent’s shot, turning it into a takedown and a 4-3 lead. It was short-lived as Leyden was up and out, quickly, forcing overtime.

In overtime, Leyden secured the decisive takedown.

“He shot in on me and when he did that I sprawled and then I was able to jump around him,” Leyden said. “This is the first time and it feels awesome.”

48th annual Ted Murphy Shoreline Classic

Team standings and key – 1. Fox Lane (FL) 189.5 points; 2. North Rockland (NRK) 169.5; 3. New Rochelle (NR) 158; 4. Tappan Zee (TZ) 108; 5. Commack (Com) 101.5; 6. LaSalle (LS) 100; 7 Pine Bush (PB); 8. Fordham Prep (FP) 85.5; 9. Edgemont (Ed) 83; 10. Hen Hud (HH) 81.5; 11. Arlington (Arl) 80.5; 12. Walt Whitman (WW) 73.5; 13. Putnam Vocational (PV) 66; 14. Horace Mann (HM) 55; 15. Greenwich (Gr) 54; 16. Brookfield (Bk) 46; 17. Tie, Iona Prep (IP), Pearl River (PR) 42; 19. Nyack (Nk) 28; 20. Port Chester (PC) 20; 21. Westlake (Ws) 18.


99 – Nick Barbaria (NR) dec. Joe Calderone (WW), 3-1 OT; 106 – Mike D’Angelo (Com) dec. Nick Tolli (Arl), 6-0; 113 – Trey Aslanian (Ed) pin. John Muldoon (PR), 4:53; 120 – A.J. Barbaria (NR) dec. Adit Thakur (Nk), 9-6; 126 – Sam Speno (FL) major dec, C.J. LaBate (Com), 12-0; 132 – Danny Ventura (FL) pin. Jordan Robles (PB), 1:34; 138 – Tommy Grippi (FL) technical fall Charlie Garcia (TZ), 16-1; 145 – Mike Caputo (NRK) pin. Brandon Goldup (LS), 5:49; 152 – Jack McKeever (Br) dec. Chris Weston (PB), 1-0; 160 – Connor Sutton (LS) dec. Matt Pasqualini (FL), 9-3; 170 – Ryan Whittle (Gr) dec. Brendan Nunziata (Arl), 12-8; 182 – ;Pat Argast (FP) major dec. Hassan Graham (PV), 16-4; 195 – Tim Leyden (FP) dec. John Hartnett (TZ), 6-4 OT; 220 – Tyler Lilly (NR) dec. Justin Conahan (Arl), 5-1; 285 – Sean Barry (HH) pin. Andrit Lypchuk (FL), 2:26.


99 – Nick Barbaria (NR) technical fall Kevin Rodriguez (PC), 15-0; Joe Calderone (WW) pin. Derek DiMarsico (NRK), 1:08; 106 – Nick Tolli (Arl) dec. John Stramiello (PB), 10-3; Mike D’Angelo (Com) pin. Blaise Benderoth (NRK), 3:00; 113 – Trey Aslanian (Ed) technical fall Helmet Naeemi (WW), 16-1; John Muldoon (PR) dec. Troy Feniger (NRK), 9-7; 120 – A.J. Barbaria (NR) major dec. John Gilston (HM), 14-4; Adit Thakur (Nk) pin. Ben Ettlinger (FL), 3:33; 126 – Sam Speno (FL) dec. Sam Melikian (FP), 10-3; C.J. LaBate (Com) dec. Matt Caputo (NRK), 2-1; 132 – Danny Ventura (FL) pin. Kevin McDermott (HH), 1:33; Jordan Robles (PB) dec. Jake DeMarsico (NRK), 8-5; 138 – Tommy Grippi (FL) pin. Steven Moreno (PR), :21; Charlie Garcia (TZ) dec. Angel Santos (Arl), 9-3; 145 – Brendan Goldup (LS) pin. Giancarlo Morreale (FL), 2:48; Mike Caputo (NRL) pin. Josh Perlmutter (HH), 2:45; 152 – Jack McKeever (Bk) dec. Desmond Djekovic (TZ), 6-2; Chris Weston (PB) dec. Edgar Solis (Ws), 2-1; 160 – Connor Sutton (LS) pin. Erik Derecktor (HM), 1:22; Matt Pasqualini (FL) dec. Phil Siegel (HH), 8-5; 170 – Brenden Nunziata (Arl) dec. Aaron Butler (NR), 7-6 OT; Ryan Whittle (Gr) dec. Brian Anderson (IP), 6-2; 182 –Pat Argast (FP) dec. Joel Wamser (Bk), 9-7; Hassan Graham (PV) dec. Jonathan Stokes (NR), 6-1; 195 – John Hartnett (TZ) technical fall Jordan Butler (NR), 16-1; Tim Leyden (FP) injury default over Ekpenede Imasuen (NRK); 220 – Justin Conahan (Arl) dec, Jon Babson (LS), 3-1; Tyler Lilly (NR) dec. Danny Clune (FL), 6-4; 285 – Sean Barry (HH) major dec. Connor Reigotti (NRK), 8-0; Andriy Lypchuk (FL) pin. Mike Manni (TZ), 3:55.

to sign up for Daily Voice's free daily emails and news alerts.