Contact Us
Mamaroneck Daily Voice serves Larchmont & Mamaroneck
Return to your home site


Mamaroneck Daily Voice serves Larchmont & Mamaroneck

Aguilar Highlights Mamaroneck Champions

LARCHMONT, N.Y. -- Following an excellent football season, Edgar Aguilar decided to move on to wrestling, for the first time at Mamaroneck.

A stand-out on the defensive line for football coach Anthony Vitti, Aguilar made a smooth transition to the mat, in his first year, for Vitti. Aguilar brought his teammates, coaches and Mamaroneck fans to their feet at the 38th annual Mamaroneck Tiger Wrestling Tournament, Saturday, pinning Connor Gallin of Iona Prep, at 2:37, to win the 285-pound title.

Mamaroneck boasted the most champions on the day, four -- Troy Whittemore (120 pounds), Ben Miller (152) and Dion Duran (170). Glen Cove won the team title with 256.5 points. Port Chester finished third and Mamaroneck was fourth. Overall, the Tigers had eight wrestlers place in the top six.

When the pin was signaled, Vitti and his assistant coaches, along with the Mamaroneck wrestlers, were jumping with joy. “That was special,” Aguilar said. “It was a great feeling and it was also a great feeling seeing my little brother and my mother excited.”

The score after the first period as Gallin registered a takedown, but Aguilar reversed him. Opening the second period in the defensive position, Aguilar executed another reversal, turned Gallin to his back, and finished off the pin. “This is my first year wrestling and to win it, here at home, makes it even better and is something I will always remember,” Aguilar said.

Whittemore opened the championship run for Mamaroneck, pinning Glen Cove’s Gorov Sodhi at 2:50. Miller Clarkstown North’s Jacob Salesky, 6-0, before finishing him at 5:47 and Duran shouldered Rye’s Ben Breital at 3:11.

Whittemore, who finished third in this tournament last year, was the aggressor from the opening whistle, securing a takedown 30 seconds into the match. He rode out Sodhi and continued his complete control of Sodhi in the second period.

“I really wanted this and I wanted to push him,” Whittemore said. “I am a senior and this was my last year to win this so that was one of the motivating factors. When you get first place you get the bracket, shirt and your name goes up on the wall in our wrestling room.

“Winning this feels amazing. I felt victory was going to be there for me and I had to grab it.” 

Team scoring and key -- 1. Glen Cove (GC) 356.5 points; 2. Clarkstown North (CN) 230; 3. Port Chester (PC) 181.5; 4. Mamaroneck (Mk) 165; 5. Hackley (Hk) 160.5); 6. Iona Prep (IP) 152; 7. Rye ® 107; 8 Mount St. Michael 81; 9. Liberty (Lib) 65; 10. Eastchester (E) 38.

Championship 99 -- Eduardo Montecer (GC) dec. Joey Fields (CN), 6-0; 106 -- Mike Seligson (CN) pin. Brian Hong (CN), 5:28; 113 -- Justin Hong (CN) dec. Joey Rodriguez (PC), 2-0; 120 -- Troy Whittemore (Mk) pin. Gorov Sodhi (GC), 1:56; 126 -- Matt Begley (CN) major dec. M.J. Dell’Aera (IP), 15-4; 132 -- Justin Seim (Hk) technical fall Connor Mullins (IP), 16-1; 138 -- Vincent Webbe (Lib) pin. Connor Ready (IP), 3:15; 145 -- John Guido (PC) pin. Nick McAdams (GC), :59; 152 -- Ben Miller (Mk) pin. Jacob Salesky (CN), 5:47; 160 -- Dion Duran (Mk) pin. Ben Breitel ®, 3:11; 170 -- Brian Anderson (IP) major decision Charlie Guastella (GC), 14-3; 182 -- Joe Simulacra ® dec. Andy Martinez (Lib), 3-1; 195 -- Robert Krisch (GC) dec. Rodrigo Mejias (Hk), 5-0; 220 -- Xavier Carmona (Hk) pin. Craig Williams (MSM), 3:17; 285 -- Edgar Aguilar (Mk) pin. Connor Gallin (IP), 2:37


99 -- Eduardo Montecer (GC) pin. Matt Fay (IP), 4:35; Joey Fields (CN) pin. Justin Peredes (MSM); 106 -- Mike Seligson (CN) pin. Brian O’Connell (GC), :51; Brian Hong (CN) pin. Joe Angiletta (Mk),5:23; 113 -- Joey Rodriguez (PC) dec. Steven Fabiano (Mk), 8-5; Justin Hong (CN) pin. Brian Gardner ®, :50; 120 -- Trpoy Whittemore (Mk) pin. Louis Rivera, (Lib), 4:58; Gorov Sodhi (GC) dec, Anthony Marina (GC), 7-5; 126 -- Matt Begley (CN) pin. Dan Shaw (Hk); M.J. Dell’Aara (IP) pin. Matt MacFarlane (Hk), 2:39; 132 -- Connor Mullins (IP) dec. Rob Lalli (E), 3-1; Justin Seim (Hk) dec. Colby Kash (CN) 10-4; 138 -- Connor Ready (IP) dec. Fritz Zahringer ®, 7-5; Vincent Webbe (Lib) dec. Sean Mullins (IP), 6-2; 145 -- Nick McAdams (GC) dec. Ryan Becker (CN), 4-3; John Guido (PC) pin. Jeremy West (CN); 152 -- Ben Miller (Mk) major dec. Jeremy Ho (GC), 17-5; Jake Salesky (CN), 2:14. 160 -- Dion Duran (Mk) dec. David Crispino (CN), 5-3; Ben Breitel ® dec. Derek Shearer (GC), 8-2; 171 -- Brian Anderson (IP) dec. Youssif Hemida (Mk), 7-1; Calgero Guastella (GC) pin. Chris Ortiz (GC); 182 -- Andy Martinez (Lib) dec. Will Johnson (Hk), 3-1; Joe Simolacaj ® dec. Dominick Celli (IP), 11-4; 195 -- Robert Mejias (Hk) pin. Isaac Cardenas (PC), 1:41; Robert Krisch (GC) pin. Steven Valencia ®, 4:30; 220 -- Xavier Carmona (Hk) pin. Cristian Zambrano (PC) :41; Craig Williams (MS) pin. Mario Serrano (GC); 285 -- Connor Gallin (IP) pin. A.J. Cesarini (IP), 3:29: Edgar Aguilar (Mk) pin. Ben Jurcic (Hk).

to sign up for Daily Voice's free daily emails and news alerts.