Tuckahoe Republicans Fend Off Push From Independents At Village Election

TUCKAHOE, N.Y. - Despite a strong push from hopeful independent candidates, Tuckahoe’s Republican incumbents will remain in office following a close vote at Tuesday’s village elections.

Three Tuckahoe Republicans retained their seats in office.
Three Tuckahoe Republicans retained their seats in office. Photo Credit: Zak Failla

Longtime Mayor Steve Ecklond will remain in office after winning a three-way race for his position, claiming 409 votes to Democratic candidate Anthony Fiore’s 332 and Tuckahoe Independent hopeful Melba Caliano’s 358 votes, according to the village.

Incumbent Trustees Tom Giordano and Greg Luisi - both Republicans - will also remain in office after claiming 394 and 378 votes, respectively. They were both pushed to the brink by Independent candidate Jessica Cioffoletti’s 368 votes and Democratic hopeful Kathryn Thompson, who garnered 360 votes. Cioffoletti’s running mate Sarah Derise received 347 votes, while Democratic candidate Nicholas Naber garnered 331 votes. 

to follow Daily Voice Eastchester and receive free news updates.