Contact Us
Armonk Daily Voice serves Armonk, NY
Return to your home site


Lifestyle Content Partnership

White Plains Hospital's ICU Recognized As One Of Nation's Best

White Plains Hospital's ICU has garnered national recognition for its service.
White Plains Hospital's ICU has garnered national recognition for its service. Photo Credit: White Plains Hospital

WHITE PLAINS, N.Y. -- At White Plains Hospital, administering effective treatment from triage to admission has earned the hospital nationwide recognition.

The American Association of Critical-Care Nurses (AACN) recently conferred a bronze-level Beacon Award for Excellence on the ICU at White Plains Hospital, marking the third time the hospital has received such an award. The distinction recognizes unit caregivers who successfully improve patient outcomes and align practices with AACN’s Healthy Work Environment Standards. 

“It is an honor to once again be recognized with the AACN Beacon Award for Excellence," said Leigh Anne McMahon, senior vice president of patient care services and chief nursing officer at White Plains Hospital. "The ICU team is comprised of some of the most dedicated professionals in the industry who provide the highest quality of care to our patients. This award is a very meaningful validation of our ongoing commitment to excellence.”

The White Plains Hospital ICU earned the bronze award by meeting the following evidence-based criteria:

  • Leadership Structures and Systems
  • Appropriate Staffing and Staff Engagement
  • Effective Communication, Knowledge Management, Learning and Development
  • Evidence-Based Practice and Processes
  • Outcome Measurement

"The Beacon Award for Excellence recognizes caregivers in stellar units whose consistent and systematic approach to evidence-based care optimizes patient outcomes," said Clareen Wiencek, AACN president. "Units that receive this national recognition serve as role models to others on their journey to excellent patient and family care.” 

White Plains Hospital is a repeated recipient of the Beacon award; the ICU having first received it in 2014, and the Cardiac Care Unit (CCU) in 2016.