Contact Us
Hampden Daily Voice serves Chicopee, Holyoke, Palmer, Springfield & Westfield
Return to your home site



Fine Escalates To $10,000 For Connecticut COVID-19 Violations

COVID-19 Photo Credit: PIRO4D via Pixabay

Violating a COVID-19 rule in Connecticut could now land someone a $10,000 fine.

On Tuesday, Nov. 24, Gov. Ned Lamont announced he had signed an executive order increasing the amount a business can be fined for violations of the states’ COVID-19 sector rules and capacity limits to $10,000 per violation.

The new fines go into effect on Thursday, Nov. 26, at 12:01 a.m.

Right now, violating a COVID-19 rule in Connecticut is a $500 fine.

Lamont said the huge increase is to push people into complying with the state’s regulations meant to stop the virus’s spread.

“While the overwhelming majority of businesses in Connecticut have shown an incredible amount of leadership and have been fantastic partners in this front, we have seen a small number of businesses in flagrant violation of these public health rules,” Lamong said in a statement, “and that’s all you need to cause a super-spreading event that leads to a large number of cases and hospitalizations.”

Fines can be issued by local health directors and designees with the support of law enforcement.

Not every fine related to COVID-19 is going up. The fine is still $500 for organizing an event over capacity limits, $250 for attending events over capacity limits, and $100 for failure to wear a face mask or covering when in public. The fine is up to $500 for violations of the state’s travel advisory.

Lamont said he wanted to put the measure in place before the Black Friday and the holiday season to keep up COVID-19 defenses during a typically social time of the year.

to follow Daily Voice Hampden and receive free news updates.