Democrat Rosenthal To Replace Llodra As Newtown's First Selectman

NEWTOWN, Conn. — Democrat Daniel Rosenthal will succeed Pat Llodra as first selectman in Newtown after defeating Republican William Rodgers in Tuesday's election, according to unofficial results.

Daniel Rosenthal
Daniel Rosenthal Photo Credit: Contributed

His Democratic running mate Maureen Crick Owen and Republican Jeff Capeci also won seats on the Board of Selectmen in Newtown, according to the News-Times. 

Longtime Republican First Selectman Pat Llodra, who led the town through the healing process after the deadly shooting at Sandy Hook School, did not seek re-election. 

Here is the ballot, with the known winners in bold:

First Selectman:

  • Daniel Rosenthal - D
  • William F.L. Rodgers - R
  • Andrew Clure - petitioning candidate


  • Maureen Crick Owen  - D
  • Jeffrey Capeci - R

Board of Assessment Appeals:

  • Marianne Brown - R

Zoning Board of Appeals (full term, vote for two):

  • Alan Clavette - D
  • Barbara O’Connor - R

Board of Managers of Edmond Town Hall (to fill vacancy):

  • Herb Rosenthal - D
Click here for the story at the News-Times.

to follow Daily Voice Newtown and receive free news updates.