Contact Us
New Canaan Daily Voice serves New Canaan, CT
Return to your home site



New Canaan Heads To The Polls Today

New Canaan voters will pick a president, senator, Congress and state lawmakers Tuesday.
New Canaan voters will pick a president, senator, Congress and state lawmakers Tuesday. Photo Credit: Melvin Mason

NEW CANAAN, Conn. – Election Day is today and New Canaan residents will get to make their choices for local, state and national leadership at the polls.

Despite major power outages last week caused by Hurricane Sandy, New Canaan’s polling places will be up and running. Voters in New Canaan’s District 1 will vote at New Canaan High School, located at 11 Farm Road.  Voters in Districts 2 and 3 will cast ballots at Saxe Middle School, located at 468 South Ave. Power was restored to Saxe and the high school on Saturday. All the town’s public schools except West School have power.  New Canaan Schools were scheduled to be closed on Election Day before Hurricane Sandy.

The ballot is highlighted by the race for the presidency. President Barack Obama, a Democrat, is running for a second term against Republican nominee Mitt Romney. Libertarian Gary Johnson and Independent candidate Rocky Anderson also are on the ballot.

Republican Linda McMahon and Democratic U.S. Rep. Chris Murphy are running for the U.S. Senate seat held by Joe Lieberman, who is retiring. Independent Paul Passarelli is also a candidate in that race.

In the U.S. House of Representatives, incumbent Democrat Jim Himes is running for re-election against Republican challenger Steve Obsitnik.

In voting districts 1 and 2, Republican Toni Boucher will seek another term as state senator for the 26th District. She will be challenged by Democrat Carolanne Curry.  District 3 voters will cast ballots in the 36th district, choosing from incumbent Republican L. Scott Frantz, Democrat Dan Dauplaise and Green Party nominee Remy Chevalier.

In the state House of Representatives, New Canaan voters in districts 1 and 3 will vote in the 125th district race. Democrat Mark Robbins, Republican Tom O'Dea and Green Party representative David Bedell will be on the ballot. In District 2, voters will decide between Republican Larry Cafero and Democrat Kate Tepper.

New Canaan's candidates for registrar of voters are running unopposed. On the ballot are Democrat George Cody and Republican Kathleen Redman.

Voters can use a current driver’s license at the polling place when voting. According to the Connecticut Secretary of State’s office, you can also show a credit card with your name and signature, an ID with your name and photograph, or any document with your name and address such as a checkbook or a utility bill in lieu of a driver’s license.

to follow Daily Voice New Canaan and receive free news updates.